While browsing the internet I noticed a hefty amount of blogs and vlogs out there dedicated to How to Adult. I love this concept, and to those of us in our mid to late 20’s that are now realising that we have officially become adults we have no idea what this means or how to be an adult. So having this handy source of information, spelled out in language that we understand, is great!

However while watching these videos and reading the posts I noticed one thing. Many stated that taking responsibility is the biggest part of becoming a functioning adult and while I do agree that it is part I’m not so convinced it’s the biggest part. Now I’m no expert on adulthood but my experience of transitioning from young adult to adult the biggest part for me was letting go.

I found myself unable to do or wear or say the things I was so use to, instead I had to be more sensible, more restrained and more conscientious. Staying out till all hours of the night in a tiny dress barely able to cover my ass while wooing at the top of my lungs, was far behind me and when I realised that I was happy with this, almost relieved, I was shocked. Who had I become, my mother? I was going to bed at a reasonable hour, eating healthy, not drinking so much and spending my time enjoying…farmers markets! (Though these days that’s not so shocking…what with the Hipsters and all.)

Like so many people in my age bracket (25-30) I have a lifelong partner, a house with a mortgage and a steady fulltime job. To an extent it is these things that make a person want to grow up and become an adult, you have graduated from that young miscreant to a person someone else relies on. Some of us reach this point in our lives relatively early and others much later but at whatever point in your life you make the realisation that you are now an adult, it’s hard to let go.

Nevertheless here’s a tip for anyone reaching that point, while letting go of those old habits that have no place in your life now, never let go of the kid inside. Be an adult, take responsibility and let go of that misspent youth but keep hold of the inner child. Love the things you’re passionate about! If it’s baking, gaming, comic books or cartoons, building forts or Nerf guns, wrestling, bad action movies or Disney, all these things and many more still count so keep hold of them. Love that inner kid and treat yourself to a little childlike fun.

Because being an adult is hard, there is no denying that, but it sure as hell doesn’t have to be boring!

